Skip to content

Building a static website using Astro

Posted on:January 15, 2023 at 04:58 AM

Can a non-developer build a static website? Some people enthusiastically say yes, but I have a feeling developers overestimate our abilities. Here’s my journey to building a static website using the Astro framework.

Project log

The future of social media is decentralised

My desire to build a static website was mostly fuelled by Elon Musk’s takeover of Twitter. That was when I discovered not just the Fediverse, but the idea of static websites.

Why I chose Astro to build my static website

Why Astro? Why not Hugo, 11ty or more layman-friendly CMSes like Wordpress or Ghost? I lay out my journey to Astro here.

Why I’m NOT moving from Squarespace to Astro

I have about 260+ blog posts on Squarespace. And as much as I love Astro, I’m not going to turn it into a static website.